My heart belongs to Alice and the Beanie Festival

There were so many members at the Guild Knit N Natter on Saturday that we ran out of raffle tickets. What a great turn out! Everyone seems very happy with the website and I am unashamedly recruiting followers!

I was reminded that Eric and Wendy are off to the Alice Springs Beanie Festival.

I lived in Alice for 6 years, my children were born there. I love the red ochre of the desert. It is my heart’s home. I won’t be going this year, but I will definitely be saving my pennies to go next year.

As Guild members, we have made and donated beanies for people who need them in Alice and surrounding communities. Most Guild members are so modest that they just do it without expecting acknowledgement, but I am proud of our efforts. Go us! It has also prompted me to go on a beanie making spree… this winter’s colour is white! The pattern is called Fern Glade.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhonda
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 14:12:10

    Love the new web site many thanks Anne Marie

    Reply

  2. allnightknits
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 21:34:31

    I LOVE this beanie (or is it more like a beret?) either way the work is amazing!

    Reply

    • Handknitters Guild of South Australia Inc
      Jun 20, 2013 @ 00:02:02

      There are two sizes in the pattern. The smaller size is beret style and the larger a slouch hat. I prefer the beret look so while I made the larger one I fashioned it like a beret. This size and style hat is the one most likely to be stolen by a teenage relative. I nearly lost mine before I had worn it! It’s a lovely pattern and like all of the Knitty pattern knits up like a treat. :)

      Reply

  3. Handknitters Guild of South Australia Inc
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 01:28:28

    FYi You can turn most hat pattern into a slouch hat by adding more rows until it is the desired length. This hat ends up being 29cm long (my gauge! lol) Happy knitting :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

